Patriotic License Plate
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Can I keep my current RI License plate number?
Yes. When you switch to the Bristol Fourth of July plate, your current number is transferred to the new plate. Just think of it as ordering a new background design for your existing plate.
2. What if I currently have a 6-digit plate
Unlike our previous design, the new design will allow us to take applications for 6 digit plates
3. Can I get whatever number I want?
We can only issue plates that are currently ACTIVE. The Fourth of July Committee cannot grant anyone different plate numbers. Only the DMV can do that.
4. I have a commercial plate; can I get a BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate?
Presently only passenger vehicle plates qualify for the BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate.
5. How much is the BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate and where does the money go?
For a set of two plates, the cost is $41.50 and is distributed this way: The Fourth of July Committee collects the money for the plate with payment made out to “Bristol Fourth of July Committee”. $20 of the order will go to The Fourth of July Committee and their efforts to continue the Annual Celebration, $20 will go to the state to make the plate, and $1.50 is added to each order as a technology surcharge for the DMV.
6. Do I get charged every year for the new plate?
We made a conscious decision to make the fee for the BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate a one-time charge. The $41.50 you pay towards the BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate is the only payment you will have to make to the Committee. You will still need to pay your registration fee every two years to the DMV, but the fee for the new BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate happens only once.
7. When can I expect to receive my plate?
DMV tells us that it should take 6 to 12 weeks to get your plates after the initial 900 plates are ordered and submitted. After we sell our first 900 plates, we will have a regular schedule with the DMV. Once your order is complete you’ll be hearing from the Committee about when you can pick up your plates.
8. How long will you be selling the BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY Plates?
The BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY Plate program has only just begun. We anticipate that eventually, the DMV will take over the sale of the plate, but until that happens we will always be selling the plate.
9. I have a ‘Suburban’ plate, do I qualify?
At the moment, no. Like the commercial plate, your plate type was not included in our bill
10. Do I have to live in Rhode Island to get a BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate?
You must already have a Rhode Island registered car in order to get a BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate.
11. I collect old license plates, can I keep my old ones?
No, by Rhode Island law, in order to receive your new BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plates, the DMV must be presented the two plates that are currently on your car. If you only have one plate to turn over to the DMV when you are picking up the BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate, in lieu of the plate you must have a police report for a stolen or missing plate.
12. Do I have to pick my plates up at the DMV?
The logistics of picking up your new plate are not complete at this time, please make sure we have good email address and/or phone numbers to contact you, to keep you updated on this, as well as our progress to 900 plates.
13. I’d like to get a vanity plate. Can you help me with this?
No, our role is to simply replace your existing plate with a new background that includes the Bristol Fourth of July Design. If you’d like to change your current registration you must contact the DMV directly. Once you change your existing registration to the one you desire, then you can order a BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate provided that new plate is 5 digits or less.
14. My registration expires in July every other year. If I get the plate in June, do I have to register the car again in July?
Think of buying the BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate as simply replacing the look of your current one. We have nothing to do with the registration of your car, and if you get a new BRISTOL FOURTH OF JULY plate in June it will come with a sticker that has the July expiration sticker on it. You will have to pay for the new registration extension for the next two years as yours expires. Whatever the expiration date sticker, which is currently on your plate, will still be the expiration date of your car.
H.E.L.P.-A-HERO: ORDER YOURS TODAY
Reflect on your Patriotism daily with a 4th of July license plate on your car. There is a one-time $41.50 fee which includes $20 directly supporting Bristol’s 4th of July Celebration. Current plate number transferred to a new plate if 6 digits or less. Order now! 900 orders are required before initial production can commence.
Bristol Fourth of July Committee
Attn: License Plate
P.O. Box 561
Bristol, RI 02809