2012 Hattie Brown

Meet the Hattie Brown Award Recipient for the 227th Fourth of July Celebration

Diane Davis

This year’s recipient, Diane Davis, exemplifies community spirit, dedication, and volunteerism. She has unselfishly given to the community and state for her entire adult life, never asking for anything in return. Her particular passions for those less fortunate and for children’s illustrated in the many civic organizations she has championed.

A lifelong Bristolian, Diane was born in Bristol in 1942 at home. She graduated from Bristol Senior High School in 1959, married Robert Davis in 1966 and is the mother of Nancy, Robert Jr., Monica and Ryan.

Photo: Hattie Brown Award Recipient Diane Davis (left) recieving a Commemorative Print from Committee Member Donna Glavin at the announcement.Her volunteerism extends across a gamut of organizations including: Self Help Head Start, King Phillip Little League, Herreshoff Museum, and the Salvation Army. She has serviced St. Mary’s Church as a member of the Church Council and as a Lector. For some 44 years and presently she has volunteered for the Bristol and Bristol Warren School District including 31 years as a volunteer for the Mt. Hope Marching Band. She has served as a member of the RI and East Bay directors of Self Help Community Action Program, and The Boy Scouts of America, Troop 2- Bristol. She currently serves on the Bristol Juvenile Hearing Board, The Bristol Parks and Recreation Board, The Community Development Block Grant Advisory Committee, and the Fourth July Committee. And as many of us know she has chaired many of the Fourth of July Sub Committees including Old Fashion Day for kids.

Diane has received many awards for her volunteerism and dedication to the people of this community, especially our children.

Her accolades are far too numerous to state here, but clearly she is an outstanding exemplar for the Hattie Brown award. It is my honor to present Mrs. Diane Davis as the 2012 recipient of the Hattie Brown Award.

Recent Hattie Brown Award Recipients

  • 2012 – Diane Davis
  • 2011 – Richard C “Dickie” Sousa
  • 2010 – Elizabeth “Betty” Brito
  • 2009 – Antonio A. “Tony” Teixeira
  • 2008 – Herculano S. “Okie” Falcoa